(051) 295045

Training Survey report – October 2015.

In September 2015 Waterford Childcare Committee (WCC) initiated an online questionnaire to identify present qualifications, progression preferences and suitable delivery options for early years practitioners in the Waterford area.  The survey also sought information on any missing modules in attaining full QQI (FETAC) levels 5&6.  Finally it sought clarification on the need for alignment of social care qualifications to early childhood requirements.

Training survey report final

Early Years qualifications

DCYA Early Years Qualification Recognition Application Form

DYCA has published a list of qualifications that meet the regulatory requirements for working in the Early Years sector in Ireland. The list can be viewed on the DYCA website Childcare Qualifications

  • All staff in Early Years services working with children will need a minimum of a full QQI (Fetac) Level 5 qualification in ECCE.
  • All Preschool (ECCE) Room Leaders will need a minimum of a full QQI (Fetac) Level 6 qualification in ECCE. 

Other qualification requirements:

  • Child protection training: All early years workers will be required to have completed Child Protection Training and keep it updated every two years .
  • First Aid: There must be at least one certified first aid person on the premises at all times.( Reg  6).First aid certificates need to be updated every two years.  Best practice is that all early years workers be trained in First Aid.
  • Manual handling- all early years practitioners must renew at least every three years or if their role changes significantly during this time- Safety, Health and Welfare at work Regulations (General Application) 2007 Chapter 4 Part 2
  • Fire Safety- all early years practitioners should be trained in using fire equipment- Section 18(2) of the Fire Services Act 1981 & 2003 as well as advised under the Fire Safety in Preschools guide 1999.
  • Food Handling – all early years practitioners providing food for children must have completed the primary food hygiene course.
  • Garda Vetting: All early years workers must have Garda vetting prior to starting work ( Reg 8.2 and Standard operating Procedures on Garda Vetting)

Childcare Services may contact the Childcare Committee for information about the availability of relevant courses for accredited and mandatory training.

Association of Childhood Professionals (ACP)

The Association of Childhood Professionals is a national body with local branches including ACP Waterford Branch.  The Associations mission is to be a Representative body for childhood professionals in Ireland.  For more information about their work or on how you can join go to www.acpireland.com  More information about the local branch:

http://www.acpireland.com/waterford-branch.html    Email:  info@acpireland.com        Phone No:  086 272 4013

Men in Childcare (MiC)

The Men in Childcare Network Ireland has operated since 2004, and is supported administratively by Waterford County Childcare Committee.  The Network exists to support and encourage men to work in the early years sector.  Contact details:

 https://www.facebook.com/meninchildcare    Email:  menicirl@gmail.com   Phone:  087 6980772